the loneliness of the antique crank


imageI shot this with the iPad. It’s more a convenient image grabber than a “real” camera. But sometimes I like the speed it gives me. Shoot and post in seconds. None of my more serious cameras has wifi. Its all about my mood and how much effort I am willing to push into the equation.

This morning an article in the New York Times about the new perception of loneliness and seniors as a health problem.

I found it fascinating that they are starting to indentify physical  effects of loneliness. They’re just starting to understand the brain chemistry involved. But they are also aware of the physical effects. Stress hormone is released. Blood pressure is elevated.  It was more interesting was the efforts to cataract this feeling. They have set up telephone lines for people to call in to have a chat. Sometimes they don’t directly address their feelings of loneliness they just want to talk. another feature that has been developed something called men’s shed at which men gathered to talk drink tea and I suppose and work on woodworking projects. A place for oldguys to hang out. No need for advanced carpentry skills.

I was moved to submit a comment in the article and NYTIMES accepted it.

This shed sounded like a good idea.  I am more interested today in rethinking the options I have available nearby.  camera club, seniors centre with its activities, Georgian college course either online or in person, and continuing my blogging efforts with a possible strategy to use them to ge t me more connected.

The laughing 600lb gorilla in the room is the avalanche if change my kidney transplant will bring much of it good beyong measure. I will lose what I call my dialysis “villa ge. The patients and nurses with whom I chat. Small conversations but still nuggets of connection.  Three days a week.

It is up to me fight loneliness. There are many  weapons available.

PS Part of the text of this post I added by  using the dictation function of the iPad tablet and its builtin microphone. It misunderstands me some of the time but does a great job generally.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

2 thoughts on “the loneliness of the antique crank”

  1. Your iPad did GREAT with the photo… very nice. I have a decent camera but mostly use my phone – way too much easier to carry. 🙂 I live alone now and it is occasionally hard; I’m used to living with someone to interact with on a daily basis. Thing is, the past couple of folks have been hard ones to live with, never mind robbing me blind, so I’m done with that at least until my choice of folks has improved a great deal. I keep in touch with my kids on Facebook, that’s why I started there really, though now I’m deep in political issues involving First Nations, so it serves a couple purposes. I also still continue to work full time and at 68 it gets hard. Really hard. My debts call however, so it’s off to work I go. Still, I’m in a tightly knit community here on Nipissing reserve and I’m mobile, so I always have someone I can visit. I’m looking forward to when your kidneys are fixed and you can get out and remember what it is to be free. That will be good. ❤

  2. thanks for the comment … I am reviewing social options. My schedule after transplant will be hectic but only for a short while but then large chunks of time free. It has been frustrating how many times my dialysis schedule has collided with something.

Leave a Reply

