Changes


Some 12 weeks since open heart surgery, recovery perhaps slower than anticipated.

Weather this year heading into winter has been mild and snowless. Making my moving around with my walker very easy. Most winters snow comes by early November and stays until April.  The forecast is for a green Christmas. When I lived in Toromto, we often had those.

I am positively svelte. I had set a weight loss target of 100 kilograms for Christmas. I met that ten days  ago. Yesterday at dialysis I weighed out at 99.0 kilograms. That is about 217 lbs.  When I was in university I ran around at 235 lbs,

Following open heart surgery I am up and down like a roller coaster, hopeful and depressed. I try to grit my teeth and carry on moving forward. Bailing the boat as I take a break from rowing.

I am still getting used to being used to being blind from glaucoma in my right eye. Losing depth perception is an every day tricky. Going to pick up full drinking glasses is more of an a adventure.

I am trying to use my tiny social network to fight the big black dog, depression. I have been using the telephone for conversations.  Three visitors have called for face to face chin wags.  It helps.

Big change this week: reduction in number of treatments per week. Clearances have improved.  So no more four treatments of four hours. Now just Monday, Wednesday, Friday. This is huge.  It used to feel like with four treatments that all I did was go to dialysis.

Transplant list prep will continue.  Possible kidney transplant next summer.

 

 

 

 

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

2 thoughts on “Changes”

  1. Dear Bill, I hadn’t realized you had lost vision in one eye and had the ordeal of heart surgery, I’m so sorry to hear that. (Remember, you blocked me on Facebook over a movie review or something, and I stopped coming on G+ a year ago). I’m impressed by your spirit, your willingness to keep recording and explicating your experiences, your sheer gumption — and without the kind of self-pity or sentimental recourse to God or warmed-over self-help theories so common to these kinds of accounts. Good work! So wonderful to see your photography and see your Youtube comments on cameras, I have shared with my daughter who has always loved photography and formally studied it for a time in art HS but she’s now in neuroscience. I guess I will have a reason to come over to G+ now and then. Remember Second Life? I think you tried it some years ago and of course it had many problems. Still requires a high-end graphic card and speedy Internet. If you ever feel like putting up a store there again let me know I’ll give you a free storefront, I still have a little business there. Cathy

Leave a Reply

