Surgery date


At last word of my open heart surgery, date of either September 30, or October 1 or 2. I hope I survive and recover. I hope I regain strength. Ideally I hope to once again walk without walker or cane. It has been a long wait. Almost ten months to prepare to maximize the chance of surgical success.

The weather has been especially fine. Blue skies.

making a chane in time of three out four dialysis treatments, moving to afternoons to noon to five o’clock from sueven AM to noon. This will be much better especially in the coming winter.

also next week my ride to dialysis will be via the Red Cross.  My sis who has been driving me needs a break. Her arthritis has grown worse.

I carry on.  I have greatl hope. There is no other way to proceed. God bless everylone who reads this, everyone who fights to live with health troubles.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

5 thoughts on “Surgery date”

  1. Hi Bill- I’m relieved to hear that the surgery date is near. My thoughts are with you as you continue to prepare, then start the road to recovery.
    The offer to hitch a ride on the Dialysis Express is still open, as we hope to be back and forth through the fall and winter.
    Sincerely, Karen

  2. Thanks for the good wishes.

    Karen, the switch to Red Cross transport should be very good. A number of patients in my treatment “shift” use this service and like it. It took a while for my sister to let go helping me out, but extra “gnawing” by her arthritis got her to let it go. My 62nd birthday comes Oct 23rd, we may have a small drop by for snacks afternoon party. Perhaps you guys might be up and step in. More details to come. Thanks again.

  3. Bill – my thoughts are with you. You have been going through a trying time, without question, but with a great attitude. In my time as a physician, I observed the power of attitude again and again. I trust and hope your surgery is an amazing success, and that you get back to the more active life that you enjoy.
    As a photographer, I miss your wonderful posted images, and look forward to enjoying them regularly again.
    Bob.

  4. Bob, thanks for your words. Photography has been difficult. Trouble with my hands as well. Nikon D7100 is pretty heavy. Even hard to use the computer mouse. Apparently a little hand surgery later should help.

Leave a Reply

