Poem: The Blue Heron Stands


The Blue Heron Stands

The blue heron stands in the shallow water.

Studying dusk, knowing

the separation of air and water

like two distrusting kingdoms.

He wills the end of all motion

and the trees obey…the clouds pause.

Only the channel marker blinks.

I stand behind glass and wall

but cannot wait long enough to see

this blue question mark ask me

how I might fly.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

3 thoughts on “Poem: The Blue Heron Stands”

  1. Your poem is wonderful. We have many blue herons where I live on the Gulf coast of Florida. I’ll think of your words every time I get one in my camera lens. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

