snap day at dialysis


things have not been going well and much of the trouble revolves around low blood pressures on my part….

for example, today when I came in it was quite low….this makes it impossible to remove fluid without lowering my bp significantly below 100, normal and perfect is 120. I have quite  few moments of low bp during dialysis and felt light headed at home and out in public after dialysis.

it seems to the nurses and I that my bp medication needs to be reduced….

when I asked them to call the on-call nepjrologist at Orillia Hospital, they said no.  There is no doctor on site at the Penetang Hospital since it is principally a geriatric facility and also seems to handle physio for new amputees, altho I havent seen many amputees in a few months so that may have been moved over to the hopsital in Midland.  If a patient gets into trouble, an ambulance is called and they are transported over to Midland Hospital.  We see a nephrologist once  month on site here at our clinic.  Next clinic is pushed late in February for some reason probably winter holidays, it will take place on Feb. 13th.

I have been feeling light headed and beginning to black out, to grey out my vision, a few times over this month.

The snap by me came when they decided not to call the on call nephrologist.   Instead they suggested I get a bp machine and start measuring my bp at home.  It is my conviction that we have enough data over a long enough time to ask a doctor.  In my sixth year of dialysis, I have lost my temper just twice.  This was the second time.   For some reason at the last monthly clinic the nurse preparing my chart failed to note this issue. I blew it as well by not recalling it.  My talk with the doctor had to do with elevated phosphorus and with figuring out a new heavier target weight, tricky to do immediately after the holiday feasting season.

The other moment when this bp problem might get addressed is on next Wednesday when the nephrology do a clinic rounds by telephone to the “satellite” clinics (Orillia is the main unit and there are some 6 smaller satellites including Penetang Hospital).

Sitting their seething was beneficial today, it raised my blood pressure.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

