“Ranches of isolation”


“ranches of isolation” is a phrase from a poem by W.H. Auden.

It seems to me that isolation is a large factor today. Larger and larger.  Digital isolation replacing personal connections in a form of Alice in Wonderland twists.  Many seniors are isolated.

In North America many people are living alone.

I remember when I got the news about my kidney disease.  I realize more completely now that I considered my life was over.  I made quite a few bad decisions after that moment.  Choices small, medium, large, and ginormous. I tried to connect but I think I also held back in those moments.  Fear is a drag and cuts the lift from your wings.

Now I have been given the word to expect a kidney transplant within a year.  I have no live donor.  It makes me pause to reflect that someone will have to die  for me to gain that kidney. I have been told that my general state of health is good and that a kidney will allow me to return to full, normal life.

I am doing my best to prepare and adjust to this news.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

