TRANSPLANT VERDICT


I  had dialysis this morning from 715am to 1140am in Penetang, Ontario.  A smooth run.  I then drove myself about 100 miles south to Toronto to St. Michael’s Hospital in the downtown core.  Spoke with the surgeon.  I had set a range of possibilities in my brain before heading down.  I had been told that I was a GO for transplant, but you never know.  So I was ready for NO GO all the way to waiting four or more years longer.  I started dialysis in the first week of November of 2008.

So the verdict:  I was told to expect a cadaverous kidney in about a year.

This is based on the practice to place patients on this transplant list based on the date they started dialysis, after they complete the preliminary evaluation/work up to determine their viability for a kidney transplant.

It is interesting one factor they consider is anti-body production.  Three ways that your body might have produced anti-bodies:

  • blood transfusion
  • pregnancy
  • another organ transplant

None of these factors apply to me.

All those Hail Marys must have helped.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

1 thought on “TRANSPLANT VERDICT”

Leave a Reply

