dialysis progress


where you are an outpatient on life support…

lately all has been stable and well in my version of hemodialysis so I haven’t been blogging much on the subject, it gets to be like the familiar wallpaper of my universe.

over the next few weeks a few things should get settled after a flurry of appointments and tests:

  1. parathyroid surgery likely, not sure if this is a go or when it will get scheduled
  2. word on my cardiac status with regard to my viability for a kidney transplant

next month, in the first week of November will be my fourth anniversary of hemodialysis (November 6th or was it the 8th, 2008, have to check my notes on the exact day of starting)…..it has been an interesting ride so far.   I suspect that at the time I started I was not far from death, which is a longer story than I am inclined to type up today, I will save that for another day.

today I am sitting out on my back deck

in the almost sunny mild air tapping on this laptop, talking to Grace the golden retriever and marvelling at the number of chainsaws and other power tools in action in the neighbourhood today. Light aircraft passing, crows laughing and chickadees chattering.  Squirrel traffic is heavy as well.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

