meditations on being a son and not being a father…

Gnawledgewurker and his knowledge work blog

On this day, October 2nd, in 1942, my grandfather, Dr. William Gibson, died of cancer.  This was one day after my father’s 23rd birthday.  1942 was the third year of the war, my father went into the Royal Canadian Navy.  He married my mother in March 1945 in Montreal.  My sister followed in 1949. I joined the team in 1953.  My father was 34 years old when I was born. He died when I was 39 years old.  So it occurred to me that I had him available for advice and to just plain talk to for 16 years longer than he had those chances with his father.

Although he had four brothers, two older, two younger, I don’t think he was close to them.  We lived far enough apart to make contact difficult.  So I ask myself who was his mentor during his twenties and thirties.  Who could he…

View original post 328 more words

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

