the deck and the old wheel chair ramp are re-stained


my camera icon

Did it on Sunday afternoon with a roller and extension handle in an hour.  The pressure treated wood got a fresh coat of REZ solid Redwood coloured stain and it really needed it.  The deck and the old wheel chair ramp in particular get blasted by the afternoon and evening sun during the summer and that sun is very hot.  The wheelchair ramp is a carry over from the days when my late mother lived here with a lot of support from my sister and I.  She passed away in 1996.  Thinking of her today I remember in her last year or so rolling down the ramp to the cement driveway which is very, very long and helping my sister do gardening, cutting up brush branches as she sat in her wheel chair.  She died three days short of her 80th birthday.  She was the hardest worker I have ever met.

The deck and ramp got about thirty six hours to dry before the rain came in to test their dryness.  I think it will be allright. I am glad I got this done. I can now relax and not keep such an eagle eye on the weather forecast.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

2 thoughts on “the deck and the old wheel chair ramp are re-stained”

Leave a Reply

