three holes in bowling ball, an odd dialysis treatment


A little trouble to get started with dialysis treatment using my fistula today: two nurses worked it out though and I ended up with three holes not the usual two.  My pump speed was excellent 420-430 and I cleaned 106 litres.

coming down the pike:

  • anigoplasty to fix a narrowing in the fistula
  • trip to Toronto, for a final check on my healed heel
  • end of August surgery to remove most of my parathyroid glands
  • seems we have lost one of our dialysis patient team to home hemodialysis, this program is ramping up in this area of Ontario – I will miss yakking with him in the waiting room

parathyroid removal is common related to hemodialysis

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

2 thoughts on “three holes in bowling ball, an odd dialysis treatment”

  1. William, if you are having you para thyroids removed in Toronto I would be happy to bring in – coffee? should you be room bound. I suspect you will be kept for a few days to stabilize your calcium after a few runs. All the best (I am on FB and twitter)

Leave a Reply

