old poem – Montego Bay Resort (1996)


from The Black Cat Walks Down (1996)

 

Montego Bay Resort

click here to return to poems' list at the top (for L.)

I waken in the bed
Sunlight begins to fill the room
Opens my eyes wider
But it is not you

The fan spins above my head.
I can hear the surf
The sheets of cotton hold me
In the smallest caress
But it is not you

I stand on the balcony
See the sand and water meet
Feel the wind on my bare chest and legs
Pushing gently at me
But it is not you

Later floating in the sea
Counting clouds then closing my eyes
I feel your hands
Support my head and back
But it is not you

That night when I turn the key
coming back to the room
The empty room
The aching empty room
Is full of you.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

