that little heel problem


the diabetic ulcer on my left heel was checked in Toronto by a plastic surgeon yesterday. dead skin was cut away by a chiropodist.  some changes in the dressing treatment prescribed.  Oh, and I get to wear an air cast to help immobilize the heel from flexing too much.   Can’t say I love the air cast.  The plan is for me to heal on my own, no flap or skin graft.  Dead skin was cut without a local anaesthetic and I did not feel a thing which was good.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

3 thoughts on “that little heel problem”

  1. Mother Nature added a couple of inches of snow overnight, roads are plowed. It is forecast to go up to 11 degrees Celsius on Sunday so this blanket of winter comfort will be gone by then. I am struggling a bit with the problem of getting my four snow tires or rims from the boathouse to my car with my air cast. I have two plans, one is call in a favour and two is to suck it up and move them myself. albeit over two days.

  2. Sorry to hear you continue to have this problem. Be slavishly devoted to your treatment – it will make a big difference. Therefore – time to call for help with your tires!
    I will be working in your neighbourhood for the next while. Coffee? Tim Horton’s?

  3. I called in a favour and a friend will move my tires for me. There has bee steady improvement an this recent change in treatment is designed to get me to the finish line. Dialysis today was intersting with my Ironman foot in place, but a smooth run.

    coffee in my neighbourhood? either McDonald’s in Midland on HWy 93 where the two small malls face each other or the Tim’s next door to McDonalds, same stretch in Midland.

    time: Sunday is wide open. Monday after dialysis – 6 pm, TUEsday wide open.

    When works for you?

Leave a Reply

