My book bag this week runneth over the 1960s and even earlier


August 9, 2011 Tuesday

(written outsideat the glass table on the back deck on my newish Gateway laptop using my wifi network installed in the cottage, and  on the cloud in Google docs)

we are approaching the tenth anniversary of the September 11 bombings,  what preparations and precautions should one take?

word processing on the cloud still seems a little strange.  maybe i will get used to it.  with the rocket stick it is certainly possible to always be able to connect to the cloud.

still I am used to my old ways, MS Word on the machine and stand alone file storage on the local hard drive, then backups.

The Gateway has a limited battery life span so I am plugged into the outside wall electrical socket, one we normally use to plug in the extension cord for the electric lawn mower.

Reading a book about Saint Augustine by Gary Wills, with the title of Augustine’s Confessions: A Biography, a small book but full of careful study and analysis.

Just finished reading an old thriller by John D. MacDonald,it is titled Pale Gray for Guilt, a 1968 Travis McGee story.   Tremendously sad ending.  I used to have the complete set of McGee stories and foolishly discarded them.  Having enjoyed this book so much I guess I will reacquire the set by hunting my cheaper old book sources.

I am also still back in the early 60s, 1963 in fact, with Len Deighton and his unnamed spy, Harry Palmer in the movies played by Michael Caine.  This one is called Horse Under Water and I think it is the best of the early stories that Deighton wrote.  I never understood why it wasn’t made into a movie.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

One thought on “My book bag this week runneth over the 1960s and even earlier”

  1. I’m a fan of John MacDonald’s Travis McGee novels also. I believe they are among the best of their type – timeless. I have lost some of mine also, so I think I’ll do as you suggest and try to re-acquire the collection.

Leave a Reply

