today dialysis


right now in the chair and hooked up to the dialysis machine (artificial kidney) about one hour into my four and a half hour run.  My nurse tody is one of the veterans but for some reason is a little more painful than average in inserting needles in my fistula.  My cotribution to the problem is my tough skin.  It is still surprising the difference in smarting when the two needles ar eput in depending on which nurse. Some nurses are not consistent in this. Sometimes with a nurse they go in light and sometimes they go in hard.  When it’s hard, i usually clench ny teeth and I hiss.

Switching to the afternoon shift has been a blessing. With the morning shift Iwas getting up between 5:30 and 5:45 am to get ready and allow time to brush snow from the car and scrape the windshield, to arrive for 7:10 am. Some mornings I would get behind a slow snow plough. You don’t want to be late because it can adversely affect the afternoon shift of patients.

had to type this one finger, can’t move my left arm,  which is annoying, I learned to touch type when I was in grade 8. I didn’t learn at my school.  My mother enrolled my older sister and I at an eveniung typing class at Shaw Business College.  I was the sole male in the class.  Most of the students were women.  It was a good skill to pick up some 45 years ago,

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

