Health care communication efficiency


an observation –  paper based requisitions are the normal pattern but this past week my dialysis clinic arranged an electrocardiogram, a followup on an odd dialysis run I had recently.  The clinic is at a hospital that is separate physically (one town away) but administratively joined to the lab where the electrocardiogram was to be taken.  I was told Thursday at 11am.  I show up at the hospital main entrance where they do intake for everything, a new efficiency measure put in place about a year ago.

There the chase began.  I had no req in hand. The clinic had told me no problem it is already in the hospital system.  But I was a little blurry and said echo cardiogram or was electro cardiogram.  If echo I was in the wrong place.  And I was told they normally dont give appointment times.  So a call to the local medical centre, a cluster of doctors offices and some labs including ultrasound.  Couldnt get through on the phone.  But a call back to dialysis got the fog cleared.  Down I went to the bowels of the hospital where after the two mile walk, the lab is a long long way at the far end of the building, I got there and took a number and waited.

Once in the lab itself I was told that the staff was not certain if they were supposed to go over to the dialysis clinic and give the electro cardiogram at the dialysis clinic, in the next town or if I was coming in to them.

So another example of crystal clear communication.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

