The USA and Palin


For many years I have watched from a distance American politics.  The distance seems insubstantial these days. I am worried.  I was deeply surprised and disappointed when the US electorate voted George Bush back into office for a second term.  I know the Supreme Court stole the election but really that Democratic guy should have won in a landslide.  Have Republicans lost their sense of reality.  Do they see only what they want to see.  Do they see the world through Fox News.  I don’t actually get to talk with Republicans.  I dont see how I can manage that.  But I am alarmed that Palin is considered a possible candidate for President.  The impression in the media of her, whether that is fair or not is a debatable point, gives Georg W Bush mountains of gravitas in comparison.  I would put a joke in here about the de-evolution of Republican Presidential candidates until I reflect there was John McCain running for them against Obama. Not that Republicans love McCain.  But I do respect him and during that election I would have found it difficult to ignore his experience.  For me he was a strong, legitimate candidate with a mountain range of gravitas.

So Sarah in 2014, I have decided to take my first impression and chuck it.  I will get some oil and a crowbar and pry open my mind.  I will make a solid effort to look carefully at her, what she does, what she says, her policies, her campaign tactics and try to get out of kneejerk mode.    I have a couple of years for this study.

I guess I will start by watching her Alaska TV show.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

