Thursday’s Dialysis run and chest line and fistula question


As soon as I sat down and got set up, a wave of nausea hit big time. I asked for some Gravol and warned the nurse that I would not be surprised if I started to throw up.  They scampered to grab a “hat” (a plastic bedpan).  They gave me a cold compress and I lay back as far as possible in the chair and rode it out.  No vomiting thank the good Lord.  Last year I had frequent bouts of vomiting but it has been many months since I had this pop up as an issue.  There is nothing quite like vomiting in a dialysis chair.  Not sure what that was all about.  I ended up sleeping about two hours out of the four hour run.  I felt fine when I left.

On Tuesday, my nurse asked me a question about getting my fistula.  I had started as everyone does with a chest line.  There is another dialysis patient who is reluctant to switch from chest line to fistula.  My nurse asked my take on it.  This other fellow seems to be leary of the two needles insertion per run. It does smart and some days it absolutely hurts.  With a chest line there is nothing to it. They just snap on the line.  I said I was willing to accept the needles and that discomfort because I get better clearances than with the chest line, I get to go swimming ( I couldn’t in 2009 and it bothered me a lot, I have gone swimming in Georgian Bay every year without fail since 1969), and lastly and perhaps something you might think unimportant: I can shower without having to worry about getting my chest line site wet and developing an infection.  To relax and just enjoy a hot shower each day is a treat that once you lose it, you realize how much you enjoyed it.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

