preliminary interview for transplant in October


that is the interview for consideration for transplant is in October, not the transplant….

so don’t get too excited for me….. preliminary is just the half  of it.  There have been a series of tests to get ready for the preliminary interview to see if I am even suitable for transplant.  The last standard test was this week, a simple TB skin test which came back negative.   One hitch is the result of a cardiolite stress test which showed diminished blood flow to my heart. The transplant folk want me to have a angiogram.  I spoke to a cardiologist who remarked casually that this test will kill my remaining kidney function.  That caught my attention.  There is very little kidney function left.  The results of that test will hopefully show what is up with my heart.  I have no chest pain.  Depending on how blocked and how many are blocked I may be  candidate for an angioplasty or for bypass surgery.    Oh, and the normal wait for a cadaverous donor of a kidney in Ontario these days is 8 years.  It seems that all the tests for transplant are repeated annually. Who knows maybe I will find out that I am not a good candidate.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

