from the dialysis chair


compliments of an unsecured wireless connection, I am blogging this from my diaylsis chair.

Despite my weight being seemingly high yesterday, I came in low, a touch low, 116.6 kg. I will likely go out around 114.5 kg.  For the non-metric folk, multiply by 2.2 to find my wt. in pounds.  Personally I like metric, it’s a smaller number.

I came in light on sleep as well. I stayed up to watch AMC’s new show, RUBICON. and episode 2 of MAD MEN, which has returned.  I enjoyed both but that put me heading off to dreamland just after 1:00 AM.  I was up by 5:15 AM.  Got to clinic by 7:10 AM  I stopped to buy my usual dialysis breakfast: a nedium coffee and an Old Fashioned Plain donut from Tim Horton’s.

Yesterday I dusted off my two bicycles.  The reason I have two goes back about fifteen years.  I grew tired of schlepping up to the cottage each weekend from Toronto where I used to live, with my bike jammed into my car.  Some weekends I drove down extra early on Monday morning for work. Without the bike I could drive straight to work, having donned m workplace duds at the cottage. So I bought a cottage bike.

My mountain bike is mostly fine, one brake cable stretched and I can’t seem to remedy it.  It rides OK. My hybrid has a flat rear tire.  I rode about 2 km. on the mountain bike.  I think I will get the hybrid fixed and have a late Spring tune-up done.

The last couple of years I haven’t done much riding.  I enjoyed my ride yesterday and can use the exercise to strengthen my legs. It may help with my plan to lose some weight.

BTW this post was typed one-handed since I can’t move my fistula-d left arm during dialysis.  Not easy for an old touch typist like moi.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

3 thoughts on “from the dialysis chair”

  1. Hi…just wondering if there is a market for Konica auto s2/and the Topcon Uni…plus about 8 lens of varying lengths…ray

    1. Hi from Tom.I was wondering if you are the Ray Koski that was my old friend from the Forestry Ministry many many years ago in Tweed.
      Hope so. TC.

Leave a Reply

