trough


I suppose in Winter, my trough arrives at the end of February and sticks around until the snow goes.  Expectations dip, activity slows, attitude decays, I may still attempt jokes but fewer arrive in the correct fashion.  This summer, between dialysis, hospital visits, chauffering my sister to the fracture clinic in Barrie, seeing my family doctor, it has begun to seem like one long waiting room visit.  We are certainly getting more than our share of the Health Care pie this summer.

One crest of late, has been taking Grace swimming in Georgian Bay. Initially she wasn’t too keen.  But she got interested when she spotted her best pal next door, Maggie the Springer Spaniel splashing around.  Grace decided there might be something to this crazy idea of mine after all.  Now she is still barking at me from shore to let me know I should come in.  But after a few more calls to her, she plunges in and swims like a fish out to me and then circles around and then back to shore to bark some more at me for being an idiot and staying in the wet place.   I will try to get a photo of the dogfish in training later this week.

On Friday, a little surgery to patch my fistula.  A small piece of vein from my ankle will get repositioned to my left wrist to repair a spot of the fistula which has narrowed. If not patched the fistula will fail sooner than it might.  Should be a piece of cake.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

