Good news, bad news


good news first: my sister had her broken wrist rechecked and re-xrayed and a permanent cast added.  She is doing fine and will not not need surgery.

bad news: a three month check up imaging of my fistula in my left forearm, my access site for dialysis, showed a narrowing at one end.  This means I will need surgery to fix it.  If this is not done the fistula will fail.  The surgery will involve taking a small piece of vein from my ankle and patching the fistula.  At first they wanted to do this by squeezing me in next week on Tuesday but I have a cardiolite stress test on that day and that test has part two on Wednesday.  The real difficulty is how to do dialysis.  I will find out this morning the details, but I suspect they will have to once again insert a central line in my neck.  This is how I did dialysis for the first year or so.  You cannot get a chest line wet, so no swimming, no baths, and taking a shower is an advanced case of caution.  Some people use saranwrap to protect their line.  Once the fistula is patched I am not sure how long it will take before it can be used and the chest line removed and I will be once again immersible.  I am very disappointed by this. I was looking forward more than eagerly to many swims in Georgian Bay this summer.  I live on the water and up until dialysis this was a big part of my life and a major pleasure. I don’t have many of those left in my dialysis life.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

