Bad dialysis run


Yesterday things did not start well and got worse.  All the patients arrived on time however we were not admitted to the clinic because there was some problem “in the back room” and they were unable to reset the dialysis machines.  A call was put in for a technician.  After an hour we got in to begin our runs.  I was feeling a little queasy and asked for some gravol.  My arterial needle was sporadically dropping in pressure so some fine tuning was needed to persuade it to operate at a good speed.  After about an hour and a half I experienced some mild vomiting, mild in comparison to the biblically epic vomiting I was prone to last year, usually not during a dialysis run.   With about an hour to go in my four hour run, a series of cramps began. First the back of my right thigh just above the back of my knee. Hurt like hell, Then my left thigh. Then my left arm, the one with the needles in it. Finally my right calf.  With about thirty minutes to go and no sign of the cramps abating, we ended the run early.  It was a great relief to stand up and get the cramping stopped. Worst cramping I have ever experienced during dialysis.  Hopefull tomorrow’s run will be a smooth one.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

