new ground in my dialysis career


Back on August 28th I had surgery to prepare a fistula access point in my left forearm.  Fistulas offer better clearances than chest lines.  The down side is two fold, each run means the insertion of two needles in the forearm and one must keep the left arm pretty much motionless for the run. My runs are four hours in length.   In the beginning, only one needle is used, for the arterial flow, which is a slower speed than the venus.  So one of my chest lines is used.  Many patients have some difficulties getting their fistulas  to work initially.  Some need to get the fistual rebored.  So far in my case it has gone well.  But it is early days and I should not get too carried away.  Normally it takes some three months for the fistula to develop after surgery before it can be used for dialysis, so I am more or less on schedule.  One huge bonus, after the chest lines are removed, a little further down the road, I will be able to get wet.  Even go swimming. I live on Georgian Bay and it was tough this year not being able to go swimming.  Next year I look forward to swimming with Grace, the wonder pup.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

