acceleration


I have a stress test coming up in about three weeks which is part of preparatory assessment to see if I am a good candidate for a kidney transplant. If the kidney comes from a cadaver I will have to wait some 8 years to receive a new kidney. That is the current average waiting time in Ontario.

Back in March I flunked a stress test. My legs were in lousy shape and I couldnt walk fast enough or long enough on the treadmill. So I havent been doing much walking. Procrastination is my middle name. Today I walked around our block, which is a long one about 2 km. I did it in about 55 minutes. My plan is to walk the block once a day for ten days then walk it twice a day up until the stress test. After the stress test I will drop back to once a day. Wish me luck and not too much rain for my walking.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

