writers group meeting a low point


tonight’s meeting was a low point in my experience of writing workshops. how bad was it, Johnny? it was so bad I walked out of it an illiterate in order to preserve my sanity. I have a month to consider my options. Quit. Attempt to modify to improve, Sit back and wait and see. There are lots of smart people who trot out the phrases about groups forming, storming and finally performing. I wonder what they would have thought about tonight’s debacle spectacle. My favourite moment was the explanation by one fellow as to why he would not be providing multiple copies of his work, he did not trust us not to steal his work. Hard to move forward brom such a basic mistrust. I asked if anyone had ever stolen his work. He said no. He said he had once taken a course on book publishing where they were told never to hand out any work that was not copyrighted. I did not explain to him that his work if stolen would probably not net the thief untold millions, but instead I just stopped talking because i could not see much point in any further attempt to counter his point of view on this basic, fundamental first step in any critiquing workshop. If you want to participate, you give out copies for study and critique. That is a basic rule of the universe. I will skip the rest of tonight’s joy. This is certainly a long way from what I hoped it might be.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

