The Ignition Temperature of Paper


there are a few moments in my education when my brain kicked up and did the right thing. My old Biology teacher, Mr. Kosior asked us one fine day what the ignition temperature of paper was. It turned out that about a dozen of my classmates shared with me an interest in science fiction literature and had in fact read Ray Bradbury’s work, Fahrenheit 451. I raised my hand and supplied the information.

Mr. Kosior asked how many in the class had read the novel. About ten put up their hands.  He went on to make the point that what we learn is not limited to what we learn in school and that school is not a separate box that has no connection to the rest of our lives.

Author: William J. Gibson

62 year old - writer/photographer Canadian, survived open heart surgery, received kidney transplant, sometimes dour, sometimes amusing, over six feet in height, severely follicle challemged

Leave a Reply

